Bunnell House (UAF)

Charles Bunnell House

Fairbanks Campus

Description: 1793 Chatanika Drive

Charles Bunnell House
Charles Bunnell House

In 1921, the Alaska Territorial Legislature approved funds to complete the Main Building on campus and build a house for the college president. The trustees appointed Charles Bunnell president in August 1921, the school opened for instruction in September 1922 and a six-room frame cottage was completed soon after. It had a concrete basement and was located halfway down the hill, approximately where the Lola Tilly Commons sits today.

In 1931, a fire gutted the interior of the cottage, but it was immediately rebuilt. The cause of the fire was never determined; however, arson was suspected. In 1949, Bunnell became president emeritus but continued to occupy the president’s house until his death in 1956.

In 1958, the building was moved to its present location on Chatanika Drive. From 1956 until the 1970s the structure was used for faculty housing. In the 1970s, Tanana Valley Community College, now the Tanana Valley Campus, housed its Early Childhood Development Laboratory in the building.

In the early 1980s, the housing office contracted with a child-care service to use the building to care for students’ children. In fall 1991, the Early Childhood Development program returned, under the new name of the Bunnell House Early Childhood Lab School. It currently uses the structure.

Bunnell House is the last building remaining on campus constructed under Bunnell’s direction. No other presidents or chancellors ever lived in the building.


“The Farthest North College President,” by William R. Cashen; Terrence Cole, professor of history; UAF, Eric Jozwiak, Assoc. Director for Residence Life, UAF; UAF Directory 2001-02; UAF Master Plan 1991, UAF 2001 Master Plan-Campus Development

UA Site named after Dr. Charles E. Bunnell

Bunnell Building

Bunnell Statue

History of the Presidents' Residence

UA President: Dr. Charles E Bunnell

Dr. Charles E. Bunnell is also mentioned in these other articles:

From College to University

CES Outreach Began in Matanuska Valley

UA's Second President, Dr. Terris Moore

Why was the University of Alaska originally located in Fairbanks?

William R. Cashen

Regent:Grace Berg Schaible

How Old is the University of Alaska?

The University of Alaska Alumni Association, 1923-1939

UA's First Graduate, John Shanly

History of the Presidents' Residence

Lola Tilly

The Judge and the Murderer

Wood Presidency Draws to a Close

President Bunnell's Hiring Processes

Otto W. Geist: A Legend in his Own Lifetime, Part 2

Dr. Lydia Fohn-Hansen

Geophysical Institute's History Part 1, 2, 3

Elmer E. Rasmuson Library

Flora Jane Harper

In the Beginning, Part 3

Ivar Skarland

Skarland Trails

Dorothy Loftus

Regent:Walter T. Stuart

Regent:Morton Stevens

Signers' Hall History

Ben Atkinson

Eva McGown

UA's First Eskimo Graduate, Arthur Nagozruk Jr.

Regent:George Lingo

Carl "Ben" Eielson

Kathryn "Kay" Stanton Patty

First Registration at College

Regent:Thomas Marquam

Regent:Helen Atkinson

President Harding Visits the New Alaska College in 1923

Secretary recalls frontier college

Skarland Hall Dedication

Building the First Power Plant

The First Years at College, Part 1, 2