Academic Council

The scope and responsibilities of the Academic Council (AC) are outlined in Board of Regents' Regulation 10.02.020:

  1. articulating the overall academic mission;
  2. assigning the scope and responsibility for implementation of the mission;
  3. the administration and supervision of overall planning for instructional, research and creative activity, and public service programs;
  4. academic development and program review;
  5. development of the Academic Master Plan;
  6. advising the board on the status of current programs and the need for the addition or deletion of programs;
  7. facilitating student access to courses, programs, and academic support services;
  8. the review, revision, and administration of faculty personnel policies and procedures; and
  9. consulting with systemwide governance on matters of academic policy.

Academic Council Members

Heather Batchelder
Associate Professor of Education
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6029
habatchelder@alaska.edu
Karen Carey
Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6486
provost@uas.alaska.edu
Jeff Jesse
Dean of Health
University of Alaska Anchorage 
Phone: 907.786.6057
jljessee01@alaska.edu 
Gökhan Karahan
Professor of Accounting and Finance
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.4132
gkarahan@alaska.edu 
Nettie LaBelle-Hamer
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.6000
allabellehamer@alaska.edu 
Paul W. Layer, Chair
Vice President for
Academics, Students & Research
Phone: 907.450.8019
pwlayer@alaska.edu
Jak Maier
Associate Professor of Developmental Education
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7328
jamaier@alaska.edu 
Anupma Prakash
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7096
uaf.provost@alaska.edu
   Denise Runge
Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1050
drunge@alaska.edu 
Priscilla Schulte
Community Campus Director  
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.228.4515
pmschulte@alaska.edu
   
Additional Participants
Steve Atwater
Executive Dean
Alaska College of Education
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6050
satwater@alaska.edu  

Teri Cothrin
Associate Vice President 
 Workforce Programs
University of Alaska Statewide
Phone: 907.786.1171
tgcothren@alaska.edu 

Maren Haavig
Interim Vice Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6353
mmhaavig@alaska.edu  
Saichi Oba
Associate Vice President
Student and Enrollment Strategy
University of Alaska Statewide
Phone: 907.450.8146
stoba@alaska.edu 
   

  

Academic Council Links

Program Action Summaries
Meeting Summaries
Policy Revisions