State Committee for Research

SCoR Bylaws

Revised February 21, 2019

The Alaska State Committee for Research (hereafter referred to as SCoR) is an advisory body created to function as the State Committee for Alaska EPSCoR (Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) and EPSCoR-like programs. This responsibility includes;

  • Oversight and guidance for the EPSCoR and EPSCoR-like programs in Alaska as competitively funded by the National Science Foundation and other federal agencies;
  • Promoting research and development as an enterprise and as an engine for economic development in Alaska.

Committee offices will be located at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks under the office of the University of Alaska (UA) Vice President for Academics, Students & Research.  FULL BYLAWS

State Plan for Research

Alaska Science and Technology Plan - To Build a Fire

Committee Members

Co-Chairs
Paul Layer 
Vice President
Academics, Students & Research
University of Alaska
907.450.8019
pwlayer@alaska.edu 
Kevin Meyer
Lt. Governor
State of Alaska
907.465.3520

 

Members

John Bittner
Director
Alaska Small Business Development Center
907.786.7201
jbittne4@alaska.edu 

Aimee Devaris
Regional Director
U.S. Geological Survey
907.786.7091
adevaris@usgs.gov

Aaron Dotson
Vice Provost for Research
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.6041
addotson@alaska.edu

Richard Glenn
ASRC Executive Vice President
Lands & Natural Resources
907.852.8633

Steve Gray
Director
USGS Alaska Climate Science Center
907.301.7830
sgray@usgs.gov
Jim Hemsath
Director - Project Development & Asset Management
Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority
907.771.3040
jhemsath@aidea.org

Alex Hills
Distinguished Service Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
ahills@cmu.edu

Brian Holst
Executive Director
Juneau Economic Development Council
907.523.2333
bholst@jedc.org

Nettie LaBelle-Hamer
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.6000
allabellehamer@alaska.edu 

Mark Myers
Geologist
Retired

Anupma Prakash
Provost 
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.7096
aprakash@alaska.edu 

Denise Runge
Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.1050
drunge@alaska.edu 

Tom Thornton
Vice Provost for Research & Sponsored Programs
University of Alaska Southeast
907.796.6531 
tthornto@alaska.edu
 

 Mead Treadwell
Former Lt. Governor
State of Alaska 
mead@treadwellalaska.com
 

Ex Officio Members

Brian Barnes
Director, INBRE
University of Alaska
907.474.7649
bmbarnes@alaska.edu

Denise Thorsen
Director, NASA EPSCoR
University of Alaska
907.474.7052
dlthorsen@alaska.edu

Pips Veazey 
Principal Investigator
Alaska EPSCoR
907.474.5989
adveazey@alaska.edu 
 

Fran Ulmer 
Chair, US Arctic Research Commission
fran.ulmer@arctic.gov

 

 

Meeting Summaries

2020
June 26 AGENDA SUMMARY
2019
December 18 AGENDA SUMMARY
September 18 AGENDA SUMMARY
February 20 AGENDA SUMMARY
2018
November 29 AGENDA SUMMARY
September 6 AGENDA SUMMARY
June 6 AGENDA SUMMARY
February 21 AGENDA SUMMARY