November 12, 2010

University of Alaska Foundation Elects New Trustees and Officers

Nov. 12, 2010

For Immediate Release

Three Alaskans were elected to the University of Alaska Foundation’s Board of Trustees at the organization’s annual meeting in Anchorage on Nov. 8, 2010. Two of the three are new to the board, while one was elected to a second term.

Elected for their first three-year terms are Lorali Carter of Palmer, external affairs manager for Wishbone Hill, Usibelli Coal Mine; and Karen Polley of Juneau, retired director of the University of Alaska Southeast Ketchikan campus. »Mike Felix, president of AT&T Alaska in Anchorage, was elected to serve a second three-year term.

The Foundation also elected Felix chair of the Foundation board; Carla Beam, an active member of the Anchorage community, to serve as vice-chair; and Jo Michalski, president and owner of Portfolio and Classic Woman in Anchorage, to serve as secretary of the board for the coming year.

The University of Alaska Foundation seeks, secures and stewards philanthropic support to build excellence at the University of Alaska. The Foundation serves all campuses within the University of Alaska System and is governed by a 30-member volunteer Board of Trustees. The Foundation manages over 1,100 privately donated funds, including 644 endowments. It has over $286 million assets under management.


Contact: »Mary Rutherford, President, University of Alaska Foundation, 907/450-8030.

For high-resolution photos, click on the following links:

Mike Felix:
Carla Beam:
Lorali Carter:
Karen Polley:
Jo Michalski: