May 15, 2000

University to Honor Former Regents; Special Recognition for Rasmuson, Rhode

May 15, 2000  NR  10-2000

Alaskans who have served on the University of Alaska's Board of Regents over the years will be honored Wednesday, May 24, at a reception hosted by the current regents and University President Mark R. Hamilton at the Anchorage Museum of History and Art.

There will be a special recognition ceremony honoring Elmer E. Rasmuson of Anchorage and Leo Rhode of Homer, distinguished Alaskans and former regents who have strongly supported the university for more than 50 years. Rasmuson, former president and now chairman emeritus of the National Bank of Alaska, was named to the Board of Regents in 1950 and served for nearly 20 years, including 13 years as president of the board. His strong support of the university has never wavered, and he leads the list of the university's major benefactors. The UAF library is named for him, and in 1970 he received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from UAF.

Rhode, a former state legislator, also served on the Board of Regents beginning in 1948. He served as mayor of Homer for two terms and as a city councilman for two years. He was a member of the board of directors of the Homer Electric Association for 17 years, and was instrumental in raising funds for the Homer Senior Citizens Center. In 1996, Rhode received a Meritorious Service Award from UAA. Rhode will be unable to attend because of health reasons.

The reception will be held from 6:30 to 8 p. m. at the museum located at 121 West Seventh Avenue in Anchorage. There are more than 50 former regents still living, and all are invited to the reception.
In addition, Governor Tony Knowles and all of Alaska's former governors have been invited to the reception as well as all the former presidents of the university.

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Bob Miller, 907-474-6311