September 15, 2010

2011 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence

For immediate release
September 15, 2010

The University of Alaska Foundation is pleased to announce that nominations are now being accepted for the 2011 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. This prize is funded from a generous gift from the late Edith R. Bullock. Any individual, regardless of University affiliation, is eligible for nomination for the prize, which carries with it a $20,000 award for the recipient.

The purpose of the prize is to recognize and reward an individual who has demonstrated excellence in support of the University of Alaska. The selection committee will base its decision primarily on two criteria:

1. The extent to which the individual demonstrates a specific, definable, notable accomplishment which benefits the University (establishment of an academic or administrative program, the development of a course, the successful completion of a project, the achievement of a research discovery, the provision of a needed university or public service, the achievement of an educational goal, the publication of a thesis or paper, the achievement of national recognition, etc).

2. The extent to which the individual demonstrates general support of the University either through service, advocacy, philanthropy, etc.

Nominations must be completed on the Bullock Nomination Form, which can be found on the Foundation website at All nominations must be received in the Foundation Office on or before December 1, 2010, to be considered for the 2011 prize. Nominations received by the Foundation after that date will be considered for next year’s prize.

For more information contact:
University of Alaska Foundation
Attn: Dory Straight
910 Yukon Drive, Suite 206
PO Box 755080
Fairbanks, AK 99775-5080
907-450-8030 phone
907-450-8031 fax