Staff Make Students Count Award


The Staff Make Students Count Award 
university staff who provide
service to students anywhere
in the University of Alaska system.



2024 Staff Make Student Count Award

What is the purpose of this award?
To recognize staff who have provided outstanding service to students anywhere in the UA system. Each recipient receives an award plaque, $1,000 and two domestic airline vouchers. All nominees receive a certificate of nomination. The university president will present the awards at a Board of Regents meeting.

Who is eligible and how do I apply?
All regular full-time permanent and part-time permanent exempt and non-exempt staff employed by the University of Alaska are eligible to apply. Please note that faculty and executive management are not eligible for this award. Service to students may include service as part of the job or as volunteer service, either directly or indirectly to current or prospective students. Please complete the nomination form and submit it with a letter of nomination containing an explanation of the service provided to students and three letters of endorsement from those knowledgeable of the contribution made by the applicant/nominee.

Deadline to Apply extended to April 5, 2024

2024 Nomination Packet
Nomination Tips

2023 Staff Make Student Count Awardees
The 2023 award recipients were

Dustin Bawcom  Student Coalition Advisor Statewide Office
Cody Rogers   Director of Wood Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks
Robin Callahan High School Initiatives Counselor Kodiak College,  UAA
Katie Sill Lead Academic Advisor,  Sitka, UAS

SMSC 2023


2022 Staff Make Student Count Awardees
The 2022 award recipients were

Kevin Lechtenberg - Associate Athletic Trainor - University of Alaska Anchorage
Minnie Lucy Naylor - Interim Director - UAF Chukchi Campus
Martin Carter - IS Consultant - UAS Juneau Campus
Dory Straight - Scholarship Officer - UA Foundation

Lechtenberg Kevin

Minnie Lucy Naylor

SMSC awardee

Dory Straight

Past Winners

View past winners