A faculty voice in matters affecting the general welfare of the
University of Alaska system and its educational programs.

December 8, 2023

3:30 pm -5:00 pm

Agenda (Draft)

UA Faculty:  AY24 Faculty Initiative Fund RFP is now in the Review Period!

AY 24 RFP found here:

All proposals in response to this RFP were due to the Office of Academics, Students & Research by midnight November 5, 2023. The review period has commenced, and will end by December 13, 2023, with awards announced by December 22, 2023. Disbursement of project funds may begin on January 8, 2024.

Faculty Initiative Fund Website

Resolutions & Motions

Current and past actions can be viewed HERE.

Constitution and Bylaws

Constitution and Bylaws

Meeting Schedule

The Faculty Alliance meets on the second and fourth Friday from 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m.

System Governance Calendar

UA Faculty Senates

Faculty Senate Websites

September 2017
October 2017
November 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
Faculty Alliance AY24 Chair

Jennifer Ward
Associate Professor, Library
and Information Science,
Outreach Services Librarian 
University of Alaska Southeast
(907) 796-6285
Egan Library 204
11066 Auke Lake Way
Juneau, Alaska 99801

Faculty Alliance AY 25 Chair

Jennifer Carroll
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Associate Professor
1736 Tanana Loop
Fairbanks, Alaska 99709
(907) 474-5405

Faculty Alliance AY23 Chair

Gökhan Karahan, Ph.D. 
Professor, Accounting and Finance
University of Alaska Anchorage
RH 307C
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99501





If anyone missed the March 8th Discussion with Dr. Reichman on Shared Governance and Academic Freedom, here is The Link with the Passcode: I8E?uru%

Henry Reichman is Professor Emeritus of history at California State University, East Bay. The author of two recent books, Understanding Academic Freedom (https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2021/12/17/author-discusses-his-new-book-academic-freedom)

and The Future of Academic Freedom (https://www.insidehighered.com/news/2019/04/09/henry-reichman-discusses-his-new-book-future-academic-freedom )

He served as chair of the Association of American University Professors' Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure from 2012 to 2021.