About Us

2018 EPSCoR jurisdictions

The NSF Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (NSF EPSCoR) is a nationwide research and education program administered by the National Science Foundation. The mission of NSF EPSCoR is to help the NSF reach its goal "to strengthen research and education in science and engineering throughout the United States and to avoid undue concentration of such research and education." States and territories which in recent years have received less than 0.75% of the NSF's total national funding are eligible for EPSCoR funding. In 2018 26 states and territories meet this criteria.

Alaska has been an NSF EPSCoR state since 2001. More information about our the two current projects of Alaska NSF EPSCoR can be found under "Fire and Ice" and "Teaching Through Technologies." You can access project data and related data via our data portal

The U.S. Department of Energy, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration and the U.S. Department of Agriculture also run EPSCoR programs, and the National Institutes of Health run similar programs called COBRE and INBRE. In addition to Alaska NSF EPSCoR, federal EPSCoR/INBRE funding to the University of Alaska goes to support the Alaska Center for Energy and Power, Alaska NASA EPSCoR, the Center for Alaska Native Health Research, and Alaska INBRE.

Back to Top