Convention Officers

The Territorial Act establishing the Constitutional Convention provides, with respect to officers of the Convention, as follows:

"The Governor of Alaska shall open the convention and preside until temporary officers are selected… (The Convention) shall have the power by vote of a majority of the delegates to which the body is entitled to choose a president and secretary and all other appropriate officers, to prescribe their functions, powers and duties...."

The only duty assigned to an officer of the Convention by the Act relates to the payment of Convention expenses:

"The disbursements for all costs attributable to the elections of delegates to the convention, not to exceed $60, 000, shall be made upon vouchers certified by the Governor of Alaska. All other disbursements of moneys appropriated hereunder (total appropriation-$300,000) shall be made upon vouchers certified by the president of the convention.”

The Hawaii Constitutional Convention in 1950 provided for the following officers:

Vice Presidents (1 from each of four senatorial districts)

The President in addition to his duties as presiding officer was according to the Rules of the Convention assigned the responsibility of naming all committees, except as the Convention otherwise ordered. The Secretary kept a journal of the proceedings, determined the calendar of business of the Convention in conformity to the Rules, and was the official custodian of all papers and documents. (The Secretary may or may not be a delegate). In addition to the officers named, the Hawaii Convention elected a Chief Clerk, an Assistant Chief Clerk, two Sergeants at Arms, and a Chaplain. Other staff were appointive.

The Constitutional Convention of Puerto Rico had a President and two Vice Presidents. Other officials of the Convention included a Secretary, a Sergeant at Arms, three Assistant Secretaries, a Paymaster and a Property Clerk.

The New Jersey Constitutional Convention Enabling Act of 1947 specifically provides for the election of a president and a secretary. In addition, the delegates were authorized to choose "all other appropriate officers, to prescribe their functions, powers, and duties." In the conduct of the convention a president, first and second vice presidents, and a secretary were chosen. Among other duties prescribed in the rules of the convention, the president, with the secretary, was to certify all official acts and all vouchers for payment of expenditures of the convention. In addition, he was authorized to appoint all committees, except where the convention otherwise ordered. The first and second vice presidents were assigned no specific duties in the rules other than to preside and assume the duties of the president in his temporary absence or temporary inability. A temporary absence or disability was defined as one of less than five consecutive convention days.

Back to Constitutional Convention