Winter closure will be Dec. 24, 2020 - Jan. 1, 2021

The University of Alaska observes a winter closure period. This year’s winter closure will be Dec. 24, 2020, through Jan. 1, 2021. Additional soft closure days may be observed Dec. 21-23, 2020. 

Four days of the winter closure period are paid holidays: Dec. 24, Dec. 25, Dec. 31 and Jan. 1. Three days of the winter closure period — Dec. 28, 29 and 30 — are not paid holidays. On those days, employees will need to take leave, furlough (if appropriate), or leave without pay. Likewise, employees who choose to participate in the soft closure period will need to take leave, furlough (if appropriate) or leave without pay.

Some departments must remain open during soft closure. Supervisors and unit leaders should consult with their president, vice president, chancellor, vice chancellor or chief officer as appropriate, to determine required staffing levels to maintain university operations. Units wishing to consider partial or full closure during soft closure days should work with their respective leadership point of contact by October 2. Leadership will work with the department/unit to make sure operating needs are met. 

Once the business hours for a department have been determined and announced by the supervisor, employees should coordinate with their supervisor regarding leave options and schedules. Employees should be aware that retirement eligibility (PERS and TRS) may be affected if leave without pay exceeds 10 days in a creditable year.

If you have additional questions, please contact Human Resources at 907-450-8200.