IR Council


The Institutional Research Council exists to promote and support system-wide capacity for collection and analysis of data to guide decisions that improve success on behalf of the University of Alaska System of higher education, with an emphasis on optimizing resources for the achievement of UAA, UAF, UAS, Statewide, and UA's missions.

The IR Council is one of ten established UA-wide councils responsible to the Summit Team. The chair is responsible for ensuring the council has an approved charter and that system-wide priorities for the IR function are implemented in a collaborative and coordinated manner, for leading communication with the Summit Team, and for escalating issues that require consideration by the Executive Council and President Johnsen.


Please contact Gwen Gruenig for information regarding the IR Council meeting schedule at

Meetings are held on a monthly basis. Dates are subject to change.

IR Council Documents

IR Scorecards

>> View Last Updated December 2018

October 2018
March 2018
December 2017
November 2017

team icon Members

  • Gwen Gruenig, Chair
    Associate Vice President of Institutional Research, UA System & Statewide
  • Erin Holmes
    Associate Vice Provost, UA Anchorage Institutional Research
  • Adam Watson, Interim
    Acting Director, UA Fairbanks Planning, Analysis and Institutional Research
  • Kristen Handley
    Director, UA Southeast Institutional Effectiveness
  • Mark Kondrak
    Chief Information Technology Officer, UA System & Statewide
  • Karen Carey
    Provost, UA Southeast
  • Bruce Schultz
    Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, UA Anchorage
  • John Petraitis, Interim
    Dean of College of Arts and Sciences, UA Anchorage
  • Colleen Ianuzzi
    Faculty Member, UA Southeast
  • Stephen Atwater, Interim
    Dean, COE, UA Southeast