IR Council


The Institutional Research Council exists to promote and support system-wide capacity for collection and analysis of data to guide decisions that improve success on behalf of the University of Alaska System of higher education, with an emphasis on optimizing resources for the achievement of UAA, UAF, UAS, Statewide, and UA's missions.

The IR Council is one of ten established UA-wide councils responsible to the Summit Team. The chair is responsible for ensuring the council has an approved charter and that system-wide priorities for the IR function are implemented in a collaborative and coordinated manner, for leading communication with the Summit Team, and for escalating issues that require consideration by the Executive Council and President Johnsen.


Please contact Dustin Bawcom for information regarding the IR Council meeting schedule at

Meetings are held on a monthly basis. Dates are subject to change.

IR Council Documents



team icon Members

  • Gwen Gruenig, Chair
    Director, Data Analysis & Institutional Research, UA System & Statewide
  • Steve Atwater
    Executive Dean, Alaska College of Education, UA Southeast 
  • Benjamin Shier 
    Chief Information Technology Officer, UA Statewide
  • Karen Carey
    Chancellor, UA Southeast
  • Maren Haavig
    Vice Provost, UA Southeast
  • Kristen Handley 
    Director, Institutional Effectiveness, UA Southeast
  • Lauren Hartman
    Staff Governance Representative
  • Erin Holmes
    Associate Vice Provost, Institutional Research, UA Anchorage
  • Colleen Ianuzzi
    Faculty Governance Representative
  • Nettie LaBelle-Hamer
    Vice Chancellor for Research, UA Fairbanks
  • Chantelle McGinness
    Director, Planning, Analysis and Institutional Research, UA Fairbanks
  • John Petraitis, Interim
    Dean of College of Arts and Sciences, UA Anchorage
  • Julie Queen 
    Vice Chancellor for Administrative Services, UA Fairbanks
  • Bruce Schultz
    Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, UA Anchorage