System Governance

 Faculty Alliance Members 2015-16

Cécile Lardon, Chair

UAF Faculty Senate Past President

Associate Professor
(907) 474-5272
P.O. Box 756480, Gruening 706C
Fairbanks, AK 99775     

Dr. Cécile Lardon is particularly excited about meeting students from all walks of life and from different cultural backgrounds in her classes and working with them on research projects. She is originally from Germany, but has lived in the U.S. since 1985. After almost 15 years in Chicago, she was ready for a new adventure. She came to join the faculty at UAF in the fall of 1999. She received her Ph.D. in community, organizational, and social psychology from the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1999.

UAA Faculty

David Fitzgerald

UAA 1st Vice President

Assistant Professor
(907) 786-4482
3211 Providence Drive
217 Rasmuson Hall
Anchorage, AK 99508

 Diane Hirshberg

UAA Faculty Senate Past President

Associate Professor
(907) 486-5413
3211 Providence Drive
507G Diplomacy Bldg
Anchorage, AK 99508

Dr. Diane Hirshberg is Associate Professor of Education Policy at the Institute of Social and Economic Research, University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), and director of the UAA Center for Alaska Education Policy Research. Dr. Hirshberg teaches in the UAA Honors College and the College of Education. She has a PhD in Education from UCLA, a Master of Public Administration from Columbia University and a bachelor’s degree from UC Berkeley.


Tara Smith, Vice Chair

UAA Faculty Senate President

(907) 786-6873
121 Beatrice McDonald Hall
Anchorage, AK 99508

Tara Smith began teaching for UAA in the Community Education Program in 1997. She joined the College Preparatory & Developmental Studies department in 2001, where she is a tenured Professor of ESL. She holds a B.A. in French Language and a Certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language from Portland State University and a Master of Adult Education, Program & Curriculum Planning emphasis, from UAA. As the Interim Academic Coordinator of the LRC tutoring programs, she strives to improve and expand the tutoring resources and services provided at the LRC.

 UAF Faculty

 Orion Lawlor

UAF Faculty Senate President-Elect

Associate Professor
(907) 474-7678
201E Chapman 
PO Box 756670
Fairbanks, AK 99775

Dr. Orion Lawlor is an Associate Professor of Computer Science in the College of Engineering and Mines. His research focus is in robotics and parallel programming, but his research interests range from cryptography to digital manufacturing.  He earned two bachelor's degrees in 1999 from UAF, and his PhD from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 2005, before returning to UAF as faculty.

Debasmita (Debu) Misra

UAF Faculty Senate President


(907) 474-5339
307 Duckering 
Fairbanks, AK 99775

UAS Faculty

Maren Haavig

UAS Faculty Senate President

Assistant Professor
(907) 796-6353
127 Novatney Building
Anchorage, AK 99508

Maren Haavig was born and raised in Sitka and lived in Juneau since 1994. She earned a B.A. at Western Washington University.  Several years later, she earned her accounting degree and masters degree at UAS.  Her hobbies include sports which allow her to enjoy the outdoor recreational opportunities in Juneau to include winter skiing and snowshoeing, and summer running, biking and hiking.

Lisa Hoferkamp

UAS Faculty Senate President-Elect

Associate Professor 
(907) 796-6538
313 Anderson Building
11120 Glacier Highway


 Kevin Krein

UAS Faculty Senate Past President

Associate Professor
(907) 796-6362 
11120 Glacier Highway
214 Soboleff Building
Juneau, AK 99811

Back to Top