Announcing changes to Board of Regents leadership

February 3, 2023

Governor Dunleavy has submitted five appointees for the UA Board of Regents to Alaska Senate Leadership for confirmation. The Alaska Legislature will decide during a joint session whether to confirm Dunleavy’s appointees to serve terms on the 11-member board. The newly appointed members will attend their first meeting in Anchorage on February 23-24, 2023.

Dunleavy’s five appointees include:

  • Joey Crum, CEO of Northern Industrial Training  (term 2/6/2023- 2/6/2031)
  • Paula Harrison, human resources director at Enstar Natural Gas (term 2/6/2023 - 2/6/2031)
  • Scott Jepsen, retired from ConocoPhillips Alaska  (term 2/6/2023 - 2/6/2031)
  • Bethany Marcum, CEO of the Alaska Policy Forum (term expires 2/6/2031)
  • Dennis Michel, founder and president of American Mechanical, Inc. (term 1/23/2023 - 2/4/2027)

New officers for the board were elected at a special meeting on December 8. The following positions were confirmed for the year 2023:

  • Chair, Ralph Seekins
  • Vice Chair, Karen Perdue
  • Secretary, Dale Anderson
  • Treasurer, Scott Jepsen  

The University of Alaska Board of Regents is an 11-member volunteer board, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Alaska State Legislature. Members serve an 8-year term, with the exception of the student regent who is nominated from his/her campus and serves a 2-year term. The board was established through the Alaska Constitution and is responsible for University of Alaska policy and management through the university president.


Message from Chair Seekins: Announcing new UA Board of Regents appointees

February 1, 2023

Governor Mike Dunleavy announced five appointments to the University’s Board of Regents.  We are pleased to welcome back Regent Scott Jepsen, who was re-appointed to an 8-year term, and to introduce 4 new Regents to the community.

Three of the new Regents are appointed to 8-year terms. They are: Joey Crum of Palmer, the CEO of Northern Industrial Training; Paula Harrison of Anchorage, the Director of Human Resources at Enstar Natural Gas; and Bethany Marcum of Anchorage, the CEO of the Alaska Policy Forum. Dennis Michel of Fairbanks, is the founder and president of American Mechanical, Inc. He has been appointed for 4 years - to fill the remainder of a currently vacant term.

All 5 regents will join us in Anchorage for our February committee meetings and Full Board of Regents meeting Feb. 23-24.

Please join me in welcoming Regents Crum, Harrison, Marcum, and Michel to the Board and thanking Regent Jepsen for his continuing service.


Ralph Seekins, Chair
UA Board of Regents