The university observes 12 holidays each year:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day in Celebration of Alaska Civil Rights
  • A day during spring break*
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Thanksgiving Day and the following Friday
  • Christmas Day
  • Three additional days, either the day before or after New Year's, July 4, and Christmas are also observed as holidays.

    Extension of Personal Holiday Leave: Starting in FY18, exempt employees will join non-exempt employees in receiving a personal leave day, in order to provide equity and recognize the hard work and service of employees at every level of the organization. The personal leave day must be approved by the employee's immediate supervisor.

    These holidays apply to all eligible employees, except those whose special duties are essential to the safety and security of the university as determined by the chancellors.

Union contracts may also govern holiday observance and pay.

*Spring Recess Holiday is normally scheduled for the Friday of the third full week of March, unless otherwise determined by the chancellor for the individual campuses. If adjusted, the chancellor is required to notify the president's office and statewide payroll office a minimum of 30 days in advance of the date selected.
A PDF version of these dates is available here.

Google Calendar

Subscribe to the UA Holidays Calendar



2017 - 2018 ( FY18)

2018 - 2019 (FY19)

2019 - 2020 (FY20)






Back to Top