Funding Opportunities

2016 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence Call for Nominations

Nominations are now open for the Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. The prize, which was established in 1989 with funds provided by Mrs. Bullock, is the University of Alaska Foundation’s most prestigious award. The honor, along with the $15,000 that goes directly to each year’s recipient, provides meaningful acknowledgement to its recipient and inspiration to others. Each year the UA Foundation Board of Trustees selects an individual whose work has demonstrated excellence in support of the University of Alaska to be the winner of the Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence.

Any UA student, faculty, staff member or volunteer who has made a significant contribution to further the university’s mission of “inspiring learning, and advancing and disseminating knowledge through teaching, research, and public service…” is eligible to be nominated for the prize.

The deadline for receipt of complete nomination packets, including application, resume or CV, and letters of reference, is Dec. 1, 2015. Any material postmarked after midnight on the deadline date will be considered for the following year’s prize. Nominations may be mailed or electronically submitted.

For more information, please visit www.alaska.edu/foundation/scholarships-awards/grants-and-awards/

Announcing the Availability of the Harold T. Caven Professorship

The University of Alaska Foundation is pleased to announce the availability of the Harold T. Caven Professorship. The professorship, which carries an award of $20,000, was established in 1974 with a generous gift from Mrs. Loretta Caven, widow of Harold T. Caven.  Dr. Caven was a longtime Alaskan who first came to the state in 1943.  He served as a Director and a Vice President of First National Bank of Anchorage.

Proposals for the award will be accepted from faculty members in business and finance within the University of Alaska system.  Applicants who have evident leadership in the financial community, either practically or academically, are preferred.

Awards are intended to allow the recipient to carry out activities and projects designed to enhance the field of business and finance at the University of Alaska, beyond those associated with the recipient’s normal faculty assignments. The successful candidate will be selected based upon 1) their academic accomplishments, attributes, qualifications, and 2) the quality and degree of benefit to the university of the proposed activities to be carried out as a result of the appointment. 

Deadline: The deadline for receipt of complete proposals, including application, C.V. and letters of reference is November 20, 2015 for the two-year appointment.  The term of the professorship commences upon award and will continue until June, 2017.

Maximum Award Amount: $10,000 each year for two consecutive years.

For proposal requirements please visit, http://www.alaska.edu/foundation/scholarships-awards/grants-and-awards/.

For more information contact, call Dory Straight at the UA Foundation, 907-450-8030.

Angus Gavin Migratory Bird Research Grant

Announcement of Availability for the 2016 Field Season

The University of Alaska Foundation is pleased to announce the availability of the 2016 Angus Gavin Memorial Bird Research Grant.

Proposals for the grant will be accepted from scientists within the University system, which includes graduate students and faculty members employed within the University system.

Grants are intended to be used for the support of research on bird species found either permanently or seasonally in Alaska or its coastal waters, including their biology, general ecology and habitat relationships.  Research designed to yield information of value in management of bird species will be given preference.  This shall include aspects of management directed toward protection, maintenance or enhancement of bird populations and their habitats that may be influenced by development activities. Proposals dealing with the habitat of Alaskan bird species and its effects on such species are acceptable under the terms of the grant.

All proposals will be submitted to a review team composed of qualified professionals for selection and review.

Deadline:  The deadline for receipt of complete proposals including applications, transcripts and letters of reference shall be November 24, 2015 for the 2016 field season grant. Any proposals received after the deadline will be returned unopened to the applicant. The successful recipient will be notified of the review team's decision in mid-February 2016. The review team's decision on the merits of proposals is final.

Maximum Grant Amount:  $15,000

The committee may also fund additional grants depending on available funds and the amounts requested by applicants. Requests for smaller amounts or partial funding will be considered.        

The successful recipient will agree to submit a final report, preferably in publishable form, to the University of Alaska Foundation for submission to the donor.

For proposal material, visit:

Back to Top