State Relations

Conference Committee Postcard Campaign

The university's budget for next year remains undecided. The Alaska Legislature concluded its regular session on May 17 without passing the state's operating or capital budgets. The governor has called the Legislature into a 30-day special session to consider the operating and capital budgets, as well as several other bills. This special session gives university supporters a great opportunity to advocate for the UA budget by sending legislators an electronic postcard explaining why the University of Alaska is a crucial investment.

Currently, the university’s budget sits in the operating budget conference committee – a committee made up of legislators from both the House and Senate appointed to negotiate differences between the operating budgets passed by each chamber. The Senate passed a budget funding UA at approximately $303 million unrestricted general funds (UGF), which is a reduction of $22 million or 7 percent from this year. The House passed a budget funding UA at $325 million UGF, the same as UA received for the current year and the same number proposed by the governor. We encourage supporters to contact their legislators and the members of the conference committee during this crucial time to ask them to support the House's number of $325 million. 

The postcard is a mock-up of the Conference Committee Motion Sheet, which is produced after the committee comes to an agreement. More than 20 variations of the postcard are available to empower students, alumni, business owners, community members and Alaskans of every kind to express why you support the University of Alaska.

If you are a UA employee, you should avoid using university email or other resources to advocate for the university's budget, and you should do so on your own time, such as lunch time or after work. The university's budget is not a partisan political issue or a ballot measure -- those issues are subject to very strict prohibitions or restrictions on use of state resources. However, your advocacy will have the greatest effect if it does not raise use of resource issues.

For additional information on budget reduction impacts please view this briefing paper: PDF

 

 

 

Select Recipients

1.) Select the e-mail address(es) you want to send an e-card to. Consider sending it to the conference committee members and your own senator and representative.

Copy this link to send an email to the members of the conference committee. Their emails are also listed below: 

 

All Alaska Legislative e-mails

Senator.Tom.Begich@akleg.gov
Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov
Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov
Senator.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov
Senator.Mike.Dunleavy@akleg.gov
Senator.Dennis.Egan@akleg.gov
Senator.Berta.Gardner@akleg.gov
Senator.Cathy.Giessel@akleg.gov
Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov
Senator.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov
Senator.Pete.Kelly@akleg.gov
Senator.Anna.MacKinnon@akleg.gov
Senator.Kevin.Meyer@akleg.gov
Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov
Senator.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov
Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov
Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov
Senator.Natasha.vonImhof@akleg.gov
Senator.Bill.Wielechowski@akleg.gov
Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov

Representative.Chris.Birch@akleg.gov
Representative.Mike.Chenault@akleg.gov
Representative.Matt.Claman@akleg.gov
Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov
Representative.David.Eastman@akleg.gov
Representative.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov
Representative.Zach.Fansler@akleg.gov
Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov
Representative.Les.Gara@akleg.gov
Representative.Jason.Grenn@akleg.gov
Representative.David.Guttenberg@akleg.gov
Representative.DeLena.Johnson@akleg.gov
Representative.Jennifer.Johnston@akleg.gov
Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov
Representative.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov
Representative.Sam.Kito.III@akleg.gov
Representative.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov
Representative.Chuck.Kopp@akleg.gov
Representative.Jonathan.Kreiss-Tomkins@akleg.gov
Representative.Gabrielle.LeDoux@akleg.gov
Representative.Charisse.Millett@akleg.gov
Representative.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov
Representative.Dan.Ortiz@akleg.gov
Representative.Justin.Parish@akleg.gov
Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov
Representative.George.Rauscher@akleg.gov
Representative.Lora.Reinbold@akleg.gov
Representative.Dan.Saddler@akleg.gov
Representative.Paul.Seaton@akleg.gov
Representative.Ivy.Spohnholz@akleg.gov
Representative.Louise.Stutes@akleg.gov
Representative.Colleen.Sullivan-Leonard@akleg.gov
Representative.Dave.Talerico@akleg.gov
Representative.Geran.Tarr@akleg.gov
Representative.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov
Representative.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov
Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov
Representative.Dean.Westlake@akleg.gov
Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov
Representative.Adam.Wool@akleg.gov

Who are your legislators?
Legislators by district can be found here: PDF

Need to find out what House and Senate districts you live in?
Use the "Who Represents Me?" tool on the bottom right of the Alaska Legislature homepage at akleg.gov

Choose a Card Design

2.) Select the card(s) you want to send. Drag and drop the image(s) to your desktop so they are easy to add as an attachment to your e-mails. On mobile, hold finger on desired image(s), and save to photos for inserting in e-mails.

For everyone

UNIVERSITY IS A MAJOR ECONOMIC DRIVER

Support increasing skilled workforce

Education changes lives

Alumni are active contributors

Multiple reasons to support UA

 

For Students

RETAINING FACULTY IS ESSENTIAL

Study and work in Alaska

Quality and value threatened

Came for school am staying

Student athletes are leaders

work hard train hard

 

On Research

Maintain global leadership in Arctic research

Every dollar brings 3-7 dollars in grant funds

RESEARCH IS KEY TO THE FUTURE

VALUE RESEARCH THAT BENEFITS ALASKA

For Alumni

 Working today because of UA

Proud UA alum support UA

 Other benefit as I benefitted

 

For business and community

 Depend on UA graduates

UA graduates work best for Alaska

UA enriches our community

Athletics bond community

 


 

Share with Others

3.) Encourage others to send a card by uploading your themed card to social media with the tag #supportUA and #AKleg. Include a link to this page so others can select and send their own e-cards! www.alaska.edu/state/postcard

Back to Top