UA Journey

1970 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Elmer E. RasmusonBOR Member - President 1950-69; Mayor of Anch.LL.D.UA
Margaret Bell WiksAlaskan AuthorD. Litt.UA
Dr. G Dallas HannaDept. of Geology, CA. Acad. of Sciences; worked on 1967 earthquake researchD. ScienceUA
Archie DemmertTlingit teacherD. HumanitiesUA
Detlev Wulf BronkPres. of the Nat.Academic of Sci.; instrumental in formation of GID. ScienceUA

1971 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
William JovanovichPublisher; founded Harcourt, Brace and Jovanovich Inc.D. LawsUA
Laurence M. GouldDept of Geosciences, U of ArizonaD. ScienceUA
M.C. "Rusty" HeurlinAlaskan ArtistD. Fine ArtsUA
Alfred C. RedfieldPhysiology professor from Harvard UniversityD. ScienceUA

1972 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst
Rear Admiral Paul A. SmithAdvisory Board to Geophysical Institute 1961-78D. ScienceUA
Hon. William A. EganGovernor, State of AlaskaLL.D.UA
Dr. Arthur J. SchaibleBOR member 1961-69; Fairbanks physicianD. ScienceUA
Miss Sally MonserudAnchorage Community College faculty memberD. HumanitiesUA
Dr. Kenneth M. RaeUA vice President for Research 1963-76LL.DUA

1973 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Warrent G. MagnusonUS Senator from WashingtonD. LawsUA
James A. MichenerRenowed US AuthorD. LawsUA
Paul MaurerAlaska "DEWLine" Chaplain; retired U.S. Army colonelD. Humane LettersUA
Frank PeratrovichTlingit LegislatorD. Public ServiceUA
Fred MachetanzAlaskan ArtistD. Fine ArtsUA
August G. HiebertAlaskan Journalist/BroadcasterD. Public ServiceUA
Helen D. BentleyChair, Federal Maritime CommissionD. LawsUA
Clark KerrPresident, Carnegie Commission on Higher EducationD. LawsUA
P.F. Scholander

Physiologist, Scripp's Inst. of Oceanography

(special convocation in August 1973)

D. ScienceUA

1974 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Robert SarnoffPresident, RCALL.D.UA
William R. Hearst Jr.PublisherLL.D.UA
Howard RockFounder, Tundra Times newspaperLH.D.UA
Henry S. CommagerWriterLH.D.UA
Ralph J. RiversAlaska's first elected rep. to Congress; worked closely with President Moore.LL.D.UA

1975 Recipients

 NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Frank A. Degnan Co-founder of Alaska Federation of NativesD. Public Service UAF
Walter Orr Roberts Atmospheric research scientistD. Science UAF
Theodore F. Stevens U.S. Senator from AlaskaD. Laws UAF
Dixy Lee Ray Chair, Atomic Energy Comm.; Gov., State of Wash.D. Science UAA
George A. Parks Territorial Governor of AlaskaD. Public Service UAA
Robert Henning Publisher of Alaska MagazineD. Journalism UAA

1976 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Leslie A. MarchandProf. of English and French, 1923-27 and 1934-35D. Humane LettersUAF
Margaret E. Murie1st Woman Grad.; Writer; environmentalistD. Humane LettersUAF
Patrick H. O'NeillAlaskan MinerD. ScienceUAF
Edith R. BullockBOR Member 1967-75; Territorial LegislatorD. Public ServiceUAA
Waino HendricksonSecretary of Alaska; Acting Governor of Alaska in 1958D. Public ServiceUAA
Walter J. Hickel2-time Governor of Alaska; businessmanD. LawsUAA

1977 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Philip HandlerNational Science FoundationD. ScienceUAF
Robert E. McFarlandBoard of Regents' Member 1963-75D. Public ServiceUAF
Mike GravelUS Congressman from AlaskaD. LawsUAF
John W. TolandAuthor and HistorianD. Hum. LettersUAA
Francis J. PhillipsDistinguished Alaskan physician and humanitarianD. ScienceUAA
M.R. "Muktuk" MarstonAK Constitutional Convention delegate; military leaderD. Public ServiceUAA

1978 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst.
Nora GuinnMagistrate and District Judge (1st Native appointed)D. LawsUAA
Ethel Ross OliverAlaska schoolteacher for 26 yearsD. Public ServiceUAF
Allan W. OstarPresident, American Association of State Colleges and UniversitiesD. LawsUAF

1979 Recipients

NameBiographical InformationDegree AwardedInst
Eugene ShortDean, Anchorage Community CollegeD. EducationUAA
Alfred WidmarkTlingit leader; Alaska legislator 1961-62D.HumanitiesUAS
Jo Anne WoldWriter, journalistD. Hum.LettersUAF
Joseph O. FletcherDeputy Director, Nat. Oceanic and Atmospheric Admin's Environmental Research LabsD. ScienceUAF
Robert B. AtwoodPublisher, Anchorage TimesD. JournalismUAA
Andrew IsaacTraditional Chief of Athabaskan peopleD. HumanitiesUAF
Back to Top