Academic Affairs and Research

Statewide Academic Council

The scope and responsibilities of the Statewide Academic Council (SAC) are outlined in Board of Regents' Regulation 10.02.020:

  1. articulating the overall academic mission;
  2. assigning the scope and responsibility for implementation of the mission;
  3. the administration and supervision of overall planning for instructional, research and creative activity, and public service programs;
  4. academic development and program review;
  5. development of the Academic Master Plan;
  6. advising the board on the status of current programs and the need for the addition or deletion of programs;
  7. facilitating student access to courses, programs, and academic support services;
  8. the review, revision, and administration of faculty personnel policies and procedures; and
  9. consulting with systemwide governance on matters of academic policy.

SAC Meetings

Meetings held via audio.

2017
  • January 11, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • February 17, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • March 16, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • April 21, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • May 19, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • June 16, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • July 21, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • August 18, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • September 26, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • October 20, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • November 17, 3:00-5:00 p.m.
  • December 15, 3:00-5:00 p.m. 

 

Committee Members

Vacant, Chair

University of Alaska Anchorage University of Alaska Fairbanks University of Alaska Southeast
Sam Gingerich
Interim Chancellor
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1921
sbgingerich@alaska.edu
Susan Henrichs
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7096
uaf.provost@alaska.edu

Karen Carey
Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6486
provost@uas.alaska.edu

Helena Wisniewski
Vice Provost for Research
Dean of the Graduate School
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1196
hswisniewski@alaska.edu
Larry Hinzman
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.6000
ldhinzman@alaska.edu

Paula Martin
Interim Vice-Provost for
Research and Sponsored Programs
University of Alaska Southeast
 907.747.7704
pjmartin2@alaska.edu

Maria Williams
Director, Alaska Native Studies
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.6136 
mdwilliams6@alaska.edu
Chris Fallen
Research Assistant Professor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.450.8687
ctfallen@alaska.edu
Lisa Hoferkamp
Associate Professor of Chemistry
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6538
lahoferkamp@alaska.edu

 

Back to Top