Academics, Students & Research

State Committee for Research (SCoR)

SCoR Bylaws (revised February 21, 2019)

The Alaska State Committee for Research (hereafter referred to as SCoR) is an advisory body created to function as the State Committee for Alaska EPSCoR (Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research) and EPSCoR-like programs. This responsibility includes;

  • Oversight and guidance for the EPSCoR and EPSCoR-like programs in Alaska as competitively funded by the National Science Foundation and other federal agencies;
  • Promoting research and development as an enterprise and as an engine for economic development in Alaska.

Committee offices will be located at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks under the office of the University of Alaska (UA) Vice President for Academics, Students & Research.


State Plan for Research

Alaska Science and Technology Plan - To Build a Fire

Committee Members

Paul Layer (co-chair)
Vice President for
Academics, Students & Research

University of Alaska
 Kevin Meyer (co-chair)
Lt. Governor
State of Alaska

Aimee Devaris
Regional Director
U.S. Geological Survey

John Stalvey
Interim Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage

Richard Glenn
ASRC Executive Vice President
Lands & Natural Resources

Steve Gray
USGS Alaska Climate Science Center

Jim Hemsath
Director - Project Development & Asset Management
Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority

Anupma Prakash
University of Alaska Fairbanks

Alex Hills
Distinguished Service Professor
Carnegie Mellon University

Larry Hinzman 
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks


Brian Holst
Executive Director
Juneau Economic Development Council

Mark Myers

Alice (Pips) Veazey
Principal Investigator
Alaska EPSCoR

Mead Treadwell
Former Lt. Governor
State of Alaska

Tom Thornton
Vice Provost for Research & Sponsored Programs
University of Alaska Southeast

Fran Ulmer (ex officio)
Chair, US Arctic Research Commission

Brian Barnes (ex officio)
Director, INBRE
University of Alaska
Denise Thorsen (ex officio)
Director, NASA EPSCoR
University of Alaska


Back to Top