Faculty Alliance 2025 Yukon Drive P.O. Box 757780 Fairbanks, AK 99775



208D Butrovich Building (907) 450-8042 ua-sygov-faculty@lists.alaska.edu alaska.edu/governance/faculty-alliance/

March 12, 2020

Sheri Buretta, Chair Board of Regents University of Alaska PO Box 755300 Fairbanks, AK 99775-5300 James R. Johnsen, President University of Alaska PO Box 755000 Fairbanks, AK 99775-5000

Dear Chair Buretta and President Johnsen:

We appreciate the hard work you are doing on behalf of the University of Alaska system and understand that these are incredibly challenging times with the academic and administrative program reviews being rolled out.

We would like to call your attention to the importance of shared governance practices and protocols and feel that the AAUP presentation at the November 2019 UA Board of Regents was very helpful in providing why shared governance is vital to a healthy university. This is also written into the UA BOR Policies in Chapter 03.01 M (2).

Faculty Alliance has passed a number of resolutions in Academic Year 2020 but have only received a response from former Chair Davies on Resolution 2020-07.

These resolutions have not had any response.

- Resolution 2020-01 Resolution to recommend delay in authorization to declare financial exigency
- Resolution 2020-02 Shared Governance Principles and September Presentations
- Resolution 2020-03 Chancellor Involvement
- Resolution 2020-04 Support of Humanities Restructuring Committee Recommendation
- Resolution 2020-05 Support of UNAC Request for Detailed Budget Analysis
- Resolution 2020-06 Slowing Down Consolidation of Administrative Functions
- Resolution 2020-08 Proposed Revisions to Regents' Policy

We also have had a number of memos and recommendations as well. All of these are available on the System Governance website. We understand that the Board and President have heard our reports at the multiple Board of Regents' meetings that have occurred this year and we appreciate that the system governance groups have the opportunity to report to the Board of

Faculty Alliance Memo March 12, 2020 Page 2

Regents; however, we do hope that in the future the President and Board Chair will provide a response to resolutions, memo and letters to help further the dialogue on important issues and strengthen the relationship between administration and governance at the University of Alaska.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

Maria Williams, Faculty Alliance Chair

Written in collaboration with:

Orion Lawlor for Sine Anahita, UAF Faculty Senate President

Heather Batchelder, UAS Faculty Senate President

Syndonia Bret-Harte, UAF Faculty Senate Past-President

Scott Downing, UAA Faculty Senate President

Robin Gilcrist, UAS Faculty Senate Past-President

Jak Maier, UAF Faculty Senate President-Elect

David Noon, UAS Faculty Senate President-Elect

Kelly Smith, UAA Faculty Senate President-Elect