Faculty Alliance 2025 Yukon Drive P.O. Box 757780 Fairbanks, AK 99775 99775



208D Butrovich Building (907) 450-8042 ua-sygov-faculty@lists.alaska.edu Fairbanks, AK alaska.edu/governance/faculty-alliance/

July 22, 2019

UA Board of Regents University of Alaska PO Box 755000 Fairbanks, AK 99775

Dear Regents:

Faculty Alliance is composed of the presidents, past presidents, and presidents-elect of the Faculty Senates from the University of Alaska Anchorage, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska Southeast. The members of Faculty Alliance resolve to move forward during this difficult period with a collaborative and cooperative spirit. We affirm the importance of solidarity among the entire University of Alaska community. We also are deeply committed to the principles of shared governance and the importance of engaging in respectful dialogue even when the conversations are difficult. We pledge to work together to help shape the future of the University of Alaska for our students, our communities and our state. We stand united in advocating for the University of Alaska system.

AY20 Faculty Alliance:

Maria Williams, Faculty Alliance Chair and UAA Faculty Senate Past-President Sine Anahita, UAF Faculty Senate President
Heather Batchelder, UAS Faculty Senate President
Donie Bret-Harte, UAF Faculty Senate Past-President
Scott Downing, UAA Faculty Senate President
Robin Gilcrist, UAS Faculty Senate Past-President
Jak Maier, UAF Faculty Senate President-Elect
Kelly Smith, UAA Faculty Senate 1st Vice President