Faculty Alliance 2025 Yukon Drive P.O. Box 757780 Fairbanks, AK 99775



106E Butrovich Building (907) 450-8042 ua-sygov-faculty@lists.alaska.edu alaska.edu/governance/faculty-alliance/

Date: November 22, 2017

To: James Johnsen

President, University of Alaska

From: Lisa Hoferkamp

Chair, Faculty Alliance

Subject: Faculty Representation

As per your email response (September 19, 2017) to Faculty Alliance (FA) requests from the August 20-21, 2017 Faculty Alliance retreat and subsequent conversations regarding shared governance, the FA would like to request that the following faculty be appointed to the indicated system-wide councils for a period beginning with the 2018 spring semester (January 2018) and ending at the beginning of the 2018 fall semester (August 2018). At the August 2018 Faculty Alliance Retreat, the FA would like to discuss with you the establishment of permanent faculty representation on statewide councils wherein faculty input serves the academic mission of the University of Alaska. It would be much appreciated if you would provide assurances concerning that future conversation.

With respect to faculty representation on the Research Council, there appears to be some misunderstanding regarding your description of the faculty appointment process. In the email cited above the following text appears (*italics*):

4. Research Council

Your request for one faculty member per university to join the Research Council is accepted. I would suggest that the chancellor make that selection in consultation with the chair of each faculty senate.

The FA has interpreted this to mean that the chancellor at each university will work collaboratively with the faculty senates to determine mutually agreeable faculty representation on the Research Council. Unfortunately, at UAA and UAF this process has not been followed and faculty have been assigned to the Research Council via unilateral decisions from those chancellors. The FA respectfully requests reconsideration of those assignments via a mechanism that embraces shared governance in a meaningful fashion.

The FA looks forward to working with the system-wide councils, particularly if those faculty can
facilitate more efficient information exchange between our three universities and work
collaboratively with administration to solve the problems that concern us all.

Respectfully,

Lisa Hoferkamp Chair, Faculty Alliance Council

Summit Team

Chair: J. Johnsen

Academic

Chair: VPAAR

Research

Larry Hinzman, Vice Chancellor Research, UAF (chair)
Miles Baker, Assoc. VP, Government Relations, SW

Myron Dosch, Chief Financial Officer, UA

Susan Henrichs, Provost, UAF

Rosemary Madnick, Executive Director, OGCA, UAF

Paula Martin, Vice Provost Research, UAS

Anupma Prakash, Director, EPSCoR

Helena Wisniewski, Vice Provost Research, UAA

Faculty Membership

FA Chair: Lisa Hoferkamp

FA Chair-elect: Maria Williams FA Chair-elect: Chris Fallen

FA Chair: Lisa Hoferkamp

Brian Buma

Assistant Professor of Environ. Sciences

University of Alaska Southeast

Anna Liljedahl

Research Associate Professor, WERC

University of Alaska Fairbanks

TBD

University of Alaska Anchorage

Student Services

Chair: Saichi Oba

VC, Students, UAA - Bruce Schultz

VC, Students, UAF – TBD

VC, Students, UAS - Joe Nelson

Chief Title IX, Statewide - Mary Gower

Director, UA College Savings Plan, Statewide - Lael Oldmixon

Ryan Hill, Staff Alliance Representative

VC, CRCD, UAF - Evon Peter

Peggy Kuiper

Assistant Professor of Business Admin

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Human Resources

CHRO, SW - Keli McGee (Chair)

Director, HR, UAA - Ron Kamahele

Director, HR, UAF - Brad Lobland Director, HR, UAS - Gail Cheney

Director, Titt, 078 Gail energy

Director, Labor Relations, SW - Geoff Bacon

Director, Compensation, SW - Tara Ferguson

Director, Benefits, SW - Erika Van Flein

Director, Accounting & HRIS, SW - Michelle Pope

Dean, CNSM, UAF - Paul Layer

Dean, CA&S, UAA - John Stalvey

Brenda Levesque, Staff Alliance Representative

Ad Hoc as appropriate - approved through CHRO

Nicole Cundiff

Associate Professor, Business Admin

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Information Technology

Karl Kowalski, UA CITO

Martha Mason, CIO, UAF, Fairbanks Adam Paulick, Interim CIO, UAA

Michael Ciri, CIO, UA Southeast

Lisa Hoferkamp

Associate Professor of Chemistry

University of Alaska Southeast

Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Research

Myron Dosch, Chief Financial Officer

Assistant Professor of Physics University of Alaska Fairbanks

Chris Fallen

Dr. Rajive Ganguli

Professor, Mining Engineering

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Keli McGee, Chief Human Resources Officer

Gwen Gruenig, Assoc.VP for Planning, Budget and Strategy

Saichi Oba, Chief Student Services Officer

Sam Gingerich, Provost, UAA

Kari Burrell, Vice-Chancellor of Administration UAF

Joe Nelson, Vice Chancellor for Student Services UAS

Bob Metcalf, Community Campus Director, Northwest Campus, Nome

Coalition of Student Leaders, Colby Freel

Staff Alliance, Kara Axx

Business

Chief Finance Officer – Myron Dosch (Chair)

VP University Relations – Michelle Rizk

VC Admin Services, UAA – Patrick Shier

VC Admin Services, UAF - Kari Burrell

VC Admin Services, UAS - Michael Ciri

Director Facilities/Land - Christine Klein

Chief Audit Executive - Nikki Pittman

Chief Procurement Officer - John Hebard

Chief Human Resources Officer – Keli McGee

Chief Risk Officer – Timothy Edwards

Kara Axx, Chair, Staff Alliance

Development

Chair, Foundation President -- Susan Foley

VP, University Relations, Statewide – Michelle Rizk

Executive Director, UA Foundation – Megan Riebe

VC, University Advancement, UAA – Megan Olson

Director, Development & Alumni Relations, UAS – Lynne Johnson

Director, Development & Alumni Relations, UAF – Emily Drygas

Director, Alumni Relations/Executive Director UAF Alumni Association – Kate Ripley

AVC, Alumni, UAA – Rachel Morse

Dean, SOM, UAF - Mark Hermann

Dean, Engineering, UAF - Doug Goering

Dean, Engineering, UAA - Fred Barlow

Interim Dean, CBPP, UAA – Bogdan Hoanca

Manager, Alumni, UAS – Jessica Post

University Relations

Chair: Michelle Rizk Dr. David Noon

AVP Public Affairs, Statewide – Robbie Graham Associate Professor, History
AVC University Relations, UAA – Kristin DeSmith University of Alaska Southeast

Director of University Relations, UAF – Michelle Renfrew

Public Information Officer, UAS - Keni Campbell

Dean of Community & Technical College, UAA – Denise Runge

Dean of College of Liberal Arts, UAF – Todd Sherman

Senior Public Information Officer, UAF – Marmian Grimes

Director PITAAS, UAS - Ronalda Cadiente-Brown

Public Information Officer Council Representative, UAF – Meghan Murphy

Athletics Representative from UAA – Ian Marks

Public Relations & Marketing Manager, UAA - Kirstin Olmstead

Sue Mitchell, Staff Alliance Representative

Chanda File, Administrative Assistant for SW University Relations/Public Affairs

Institutional Research

AVP IRPA, UA - Gwendolyn Gruenig - chair

CITO, SW – Karl Kowalski

AV Provost, IR, UAA – Erin Holmes

Director, PAIR, UAF – Ian Olson

Director, IE, UAS – Brad Ewing

Provost, UAS – Karen Carey

VC, Student Affairs, UAA – Bruce Schultz

Dean, COE, UA - vacant, participate when appointed

Dean, CA&S, UAA – John Stalvey

Staff support: Rita Murphy or Kelly Ott, UA IRPA Research Analyst

Community Campus Directors

Chair: Gary Turner

Vice Chair: Priscilla Schulte

Community Campus Directors (15)

Community and Technical College (CTC) deans

UAS Dean of Career Education

UA Statewide Associate Vice President of Workforce Programs.

Colleen Ianuzzi

Associate Professor of Mathematics University of Alaska Southeast

clianuzzi@alaska.edu