Grants and Awards


Photo credit: Christy Yuncker Happ
Christy Yuncker Happ

Angus Gavin Migratory Bird Research Grant

The Angus Gavin Memorial Migratory Bird Research Grant was created in 1983 with gifts from Atlantic Richfield Company (ARCO), now ConocoPhillips, and ARCO employees in honor of Angus Gavin. The grant supports research on migratory bird species found either permanently or seasonally in Alaska or its coastal waters, including their biology, general ecology and habitat relationships.

Call for Review Team Volunteers:

The University of Alaska Foundation is seeking volunteers for grant reviewers to join the Angus Gavin Award Review Team to evaluate grant applications submitted to the Foundation. If you are interested in being considered, please contact the Scholarship Officer, Dory Straight at for additional information.

Application process:

Grant proposals will be accepted from scientists within the University of Alaska system, which includes graduate students and faculty members. Proposals can be mailed or submitted electronically. Only complete proposals will be considered.

Gavin Application
Gavin Protocol
Gavin Submission Checklist


The deadline for receipt of complete proposals including applications, transcripts and letters of reference is November 20, 2020.

Grants are intended to be used for the support of research on bird species found either permanently or seasonally in Alaska or its coastal waters, including their biology, general ecology and habitat relationships. Research designed to yield information of value in management of bird species will be given preference. This shall include aspects of management directed toward protection, maintenance or enhancement of bird populations and their habitats that may be influenced by development activities. Proposals dealing with the habitat of Alaskan bird species and its effects on such species are acceptable under the terms of the grant.

A committee composed of qualified professionals in the field of migratory bird research reviews all proposals and selects award recipients.

View a list of past recipients


Harold T. Caven Professorship

The Harold T. Caven Professorship was established in 1974 with a generous gift from Mrs. Loretta Caven. Dr. Caven was a longtime Alaskan who first came to the state in 1943. He served as a Director and a Vice President of First National Bank of Anchorage.

Awards are intended to allow the recipient to carry out activities and projects designed to enhance the field of business and finance at the University of Alaska beyond those associated with the recipient’s normal faculty assignments. The successful candidate will be selected based upon 1) their academic accomplishments, attributes, qualifications and 2) the quality and degree of benefit to the University of the activities proposed to be carried out as a result of the appointment.

Application process:

Proposals for the award will be accepted from faculty members in business and finance within the University system. Applicants who have evident leadership in the financial community, either practically or academically, are preferred.

Caven Application
Caven Award Criteria

Deadline: November 30, 2020

The term of the professorship commences upon award and will continue until the end of the second calendar year. Any proposals time stamped after midnight of the deadline date will be returned unopened to the applicant. All proposals will be submitted to a selection committee comprised of qualified professionals who will select the top candidates whose proposals will then be forwarded to the President of the University for a final decision.

View a list of past recipients

Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence

Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence is awarded each year by the Board of Directors of the University of Alaska Foundation to the individual whose work has demonstrated excellence in support of Alaska’s State University. The prize is was established in 1988 with a generous gift from the late Edith R. Bullock, who was a member of Alaska’s Territorial House of Representatives, Territorial Senate, the University Board of Regents, Alaska Business Hall of Fame and an Alaskan of the Year.

Nomination process:

Any student, faculty, staff member or volunteer who has made a significant contribution to further the university’s mission of “inspiring learning, and advancing and disseminating knowledge through teaching, research, and public service...” is eligible for nomination of the prize, which carries with it a $15,000 award for the recipient. The selection committee will base its decision primarily on three criteria:

1.The extent to which the individual demonstrates a specific, definable, notable accomplishment which benefits the University (establishment of an academic or administrative program, the development of a course, the successful completion of a project, the achievement of a research discovery, the provision of a needed university or public service, the achievement of national recognition, etc).
2.The extent to which the individual demonstrates general support of the University either through service, advocacy, philanthropy, etc.
3.While the Bullock Prize has generally recognized individuals with longevity in their efforts on behalf of the University, this is not a requirement. Any student, faculty, or staff member who could be labeled an “up-and-comer” within the University of Alaska system who has taken strides in furthering the university’s mission can be nominated. Most important is the impact of the nominees work on the University and the broader community.

Bullock Application

Nominations can either be mailed or electronically submitted. Only complete nominations will be considered.


The deadline for receipt of complete nomination packets, including application, resumes or C.V., and letters of reference shall be December 1, 2020. Any material postmarked after midnight of the deadline date will be considered for the following year's prize.

View a list of past recipients

Back to Top