2017 Archive

Announcing the Availability of the Harold T. Caven Professorship

The University of Alaska Foundation is pleased to announce the availability of the Harold T. Caven Professorship. The professorship is for $20,000. The professorship was established in 1974 with a generous gift from Mrs. Loretta Caven, widow of Harold T. Caven. Dr. Caven was a longtime Alaskan who first came to the state in 1943. He served as a Director and a Vice President of First National Bank of Anchorage.

Proposals for the award will be accepted from faculty members in business and finance within the University of Alaska system. Applicants who have evident leadership in the financial community, either practically or academically, are preferred.

Awards are intended to allow the recipient to carry out activities and projects designed to enhance the field of business and finance at the University of Alaska beyond those associated with the recipient’s normal faculty assignments. The successful candidate will be selected based upon 1) their academic accomplishments, attributes, qualifications and 2) the quality and degree of benefit to the university of the proposed activities to be carried out as a result of the appointment.

Deadline: The deadline for receipt of complete proposals, including application, C.V. and letters of reference is November 17, 2017 for the two-year appointment.  The term of the professorship commences upon award and will continue until December 2019.

Maximum Award Amount: $10,000 each year for two consecutive years.

For proposal requirements please visit http://www.alaska.edu/foundation/scholarships-awards/grants- and-awards/.

For more information contact, call Dory Straight at the UA Foundation, 907-450- 8033.

PROPOSALS WANTED: Angus Gavin Memorial Migratory Bird Research Grant

The Angus Gavin Memorial Migratory Bird Research Grant was created in 1983 with gifts from Atlantic Richfield Company (ARCO), now ConocoPhillips, and ARCO employees in honor of Angus Gavin. The grant supports research on migratory bird species found either permanently or seasonally in Alaska or its coastal waters, including their biology, general ecology and habitat relationships.

Grant Amount: $15,000

Grant proposals will be accepted from scientists within the University of Alaska system, which includes graduate students and faculty members. The deadline for receipt of complete proposals including applications, transcripts and letters of reference is November 15, 2017.

Please contact your department or the University of Alaska Foundation for more information.

University of Alaska Foundation
PO Box 755080
Fairbanks, AK 99775-5080


2018 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence Call for Nominations

Nominations are now open for the Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. The prize, which was established in 1989 with funds provided by Mrs. Bullock, is the University of Alaska Foundation’s most prestigious award. The honor, along with the $15,000 that goes directly to each year’s recipient, provides meaningful acknowledgement to its recipient and inspiration to others. Each year the UA Foundation Board of Trustees selects an individual whose work has demonstrated excellence in support of the University of Alaska to be the winner of the Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence.

Any UA student, faculty, staff member or volunteer who has made a significant contribution to further the university’s mission of “inspiring learning, and advancing and disseminating knowledge through teaching, research, and public service…” is eligible to be nominated for the prize. Nominees can include someone who has made a difference for many years or someone who is considered an “up-and- comer.”

The deadline for receipt of complete nomination packets, including application, resume or CV, and letters of reference, is Dec. 1, 2017. Any material postmarked after midnight on the deadline date will be considered for the following year’s prize. Nominations may be mailed or electronically submitted to dory.straight@alaska.edu.

For more information, please visit our website, http://www.alaska.edu/foundation/scholarships- awards/grants-and- awards/


For more information, call Dory Straight at the UA Foundation, 907-450- 8033

Bartlett and Knapp Selected 2017 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence recipients

ANCHORAGE -- The University of Alaska Foundation announced today that long-time academic leaders Michelle Bartlett and Gunnar Knapp will receive the 2017 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. Bartlett, director of Summer Sessions and Lifelong Learning at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, and Gunnar Knapp, professor emeritus of economics at the University of Alaska Anchorage, will each receive $10,000 for their significant contributions to the University of Alaska.  

“Each year, a candidate for the Edith R. Bullock prize stands heads above the rest of the candidates. This year we had two who stood out. It was too hard to choose one over the other, since both are so deserving,” said UA Foundation Board Chair Scott Jepsen. “Michelle and Gunnar are champions for the University of Alaska and Alaska’s future.”

Bartlett has been a moving force and a team builder at the University of Alaska Fairbanks for more than four decades. Under her direction, the summer sessions program has gone from semester make-up sessions to a vibrant program that entices students from Alaska and other states to attend “not-to- miss” events.

Bartlett received her Bachelor of Arts in occupational therapy from Washington University and a Master of Arts in special education from St. Louis University. She started her academic career at Tanana Valley Community College developing courses to meet community needs. “The partnership network she has created between the university and the public makes UA stronger and has significantly helped prepare us for our next century as Alaska’s public university,” said Dana and Kay Thomas, who nominated Bartlett for the award.

Knapp retired last year after a 35-year career as an economics professor at UAA’s Institute of Social and Economic Research (ISER). An internationally recognized expert on salmon markets, he became well- known for his knowledge on Alaska’s fishery markets and management. Knapp served as ISER’s director from 2013 through 2016, and worked to engage Alaskans on the state’s fiscal challenges and options. “Gunnar’s work defined excellence and raised the university’s profile throughout Alaska as an educational institution. His efforts in understanding Alaska’s fiscal problems and possible solutions were respected across the ideological spectrum,” stated Cliff Groh, chair of Alaska Common Ground, a non-profit that focuses on Alaska’s public policy issues.

Knapp began his academic career at ISER in 1981 after receiving a Bachelor of Arts and doctorate in economics from Yale University. In the 1980s, he co-chaired the committee that developed common academic policies for UAA following the merger with Anchorage Community College. A Russian speaker, he was active in efforts to establish relationships between Alaska and the Russian Far East. Knapp was an early innovator in online teaching and taught a popular online course on Alaska’s economy for many years.

The University of Alaska Foundation raises, invests and manages privately donated gifts for the sole benefit of the University of Alaska. The Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence is the largest single award made annually by the foundation’s Board of Trustees. The award was established by the late Edith R. Bullock, who served the university for 30 years as a member of the UA Board of Regents and the UA Foundation’s Board of Trustees. Bullock established the award to recognize and reward individuals who have demonstrated excellence in support of the University of Alaska.

For more information, contact Dory Straight, Scholarship Officer, UA Foundation; 907-450- 8030.

Back to Top