March 10, 2010

<- Back to Annual Report Main Page


Dirk Tordoff

Photo Credits: Monique Musick

Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence Winner

Dirk Tordoff, head of the Alaska Film Archives at the University of Alaska Fairbanks Rasmuson Library, is the 2010 recipient of the University of Alaska Foundation’s Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence.

“We are pleased to present this year’s Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence to Dirk Tordoff,” commented Mike Felix, chair of the foundation’s board of trustees. “His exemplary work over the last 17 years has built what is arguably one of the world’s foremost sources for historical film footage about Alaska and the Arctic. Not only has he amassed an incredible volume of film footage, but he has also made this generous body of work available to the public through his untiring efforts. Dirk is a great ambassador for the University of Alaska, and we are very fortunate to have him on staff.”

Tordoff has been the driving force in transforming the university’s film archives from modest beginnings to a world-class collection.

Tordoff started his work in a small room with boxes of old film and almost no written records. With his passion for Alaska’s film history, mechanical knowledge and ingenuity, he assembled a media lab from surplus equipment, furniture and computers. This simple lab has grown into a well-respected program for film preservation and research.

Tordoff’s enthusiasm for his job in archiving Alaska’s film history has helped the university preserve an incredible film collection. His primary goal is to make it easier for people to find material and learn from it.

Photo Credits: Monique Musick

Tordoff’s work has appeared on numerous national broadcast and cable channels in the Unites States and other countries. In nominating Tordoff for the award, Dr. Terrence Cole, history professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, said, “In many ways Dirk’s work has spread farther and wider around the world than that of anyone who has ever worked at the university in its entire history!”

Tordoff received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

The Bullock Prize for Excellence includes a $20,000 cash award and is the largest single award made annually by the Board of Trustees.

The late Edith R. Bullock, who served the university for 30 years as a member of the UA Board of Regents and the Foundation’s Board of Trustees, established the award to recognize and reward an individual who has demonstrated excellence in support of the university.

The Bullock Prize, which provides a $20,000 cash award, is the largest single award made annually by the Board of Trustees.

For more information, contact Mary Rutherford, President, UA Foundation; 907-450-8030.

Photo Credits: Monique Musick

<- Back to Annual Report Main Page

Back to Top