Creating Alaska
Photo courtesy the Fairbanks Daily News-Miner

The convention relied on the leadership of elected and appointed officials. The first day of the convention saw delegate Mildred Hermann (standing far left) elected Temporary President to oversee the establishment of rules and procedures. To the right of Hermann are the appointed convention staff: Librarian D.A. Bartlett, Secretary Thomas Stewart and Chief Clerk Katie Alexander (Hurley). Seated in the front row are the convention's elected leaders: First Vice President Frank Peratrovich, President William Egan and Second Vice President Ralph Rivers.

Back to Top