Academic Affairs and Research

Statewide Academic Council

This group is responsible for policies and procedures regarding governance, decisions making and research for the UA system. The Council assists the Vice President in accomplishing responsibilities as outlined in Board of Regents' Regulation 10.02.020:

  1. articulating the overall academic mission;
  2. assigning the scope and responsibility for implementation of the mission;
  3. the administration and supervision of overall planning for instructional, research and creative activity, and public service programs;
  4. academic development and program review;
  5. development of the Academic Master Plan;
  6. advising the board on the status of current programs and the need for the addition or deletion of programs;
  7. facilitating student access to courses, programs, and academic support services;
  8. the review, revision, and administration of faculty personnel policies and procedures; and
  9. consulting with systemwide governance on matters of academic policy.

SAC Meetings

Meetings held via audio (unless otherwise noted).

2016
  • July 14, 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. (AUDIO)
  • August 18, 9:30-11:30 a.m. (AUDIO)
  • September 14, 3:00-5:00 p.m. (AUDIO/JUNEAU)
  • October TBD (AUDIO)
  • November 9, 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. (AUDIO)
  • December TBD  (AUDIO)
2017
  • January 11, 3:00-5:00 p.m. (AUDIO)

Committee Members

Daniel M. White, Chair
University of Alaska Vice President for Academic Affairs and Research

University of Alaska Anchorage University of Alaska Fairbanks University of Alaska Southeast
Sam Gingerich
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1921
sbgingerich@uaa.alaska.edu
Susan Henrichs
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.7096
uaf.provost@alaska.edu

Karen Carey
Provost
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6486
provost@uas.alaska.edu

Helena Wisniewski
Vice Provost for Research
Dean of the Graduate School
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.1196
hswisniewski@uaa.alaska.edu
Larry Hinzman
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.474.6000
ldhinzman@alaska.edu
Karen Schmitt
Dean, Arts and Sciences
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6518
karen.schmitt@uas.alaska.edu
Tara Smith
Professor
University of Alaska Anchorage
Phone: 907.786.6873
tmsmith@uaa.alaska.edu
Chris Fallen
Research Assistant Professor
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Phone: 907.450.8687
ctfallen@alaska.edu
Lisa Hoferkamp
Associate Professor of Chemistry
University of Alaska Southeast
Phone: 907.796.6538
lahoferkamp@uas.alaska.edu

 

Back to Top