Academic Affairs

Statewide Committee for Research (SCoR)

SCoR Bylaws

The Alaska State Committee for Research (hereafter referred to as SCoR) is an advisory body created to function as the State Committee for Alaska EPSCoR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research). This responsibility includes;

  • Oversight and guidance for the EPSCoR program as competitively funded by the National Science Foundation and the related programs of other federal agencies;
  • Promoting research and development as an enterprise and as an engine for economic development in Alaska.

The committee offices will be located at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks.

continue...



Meeting Summaries


Committee Members

Mead Treadwell (Co-Chair)
Lieutenant Governor
State of Alaska
907.269.7460
lt.governor@alaska.gov

Dana Thomas (Co-Chair)
Vice President of Academic Affairs and Research
University of Alaska
907.450.8019
dlthomas@alaska.edu

Elisha "Bear" Baker
Vice Chancellor and Provost
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.1050
erbaker@uaa.alaska.edu

Sarah Barton
President
ConsultNorth
907.223.1631
sarahbarton@consultnorth.net

Rick Caulfield
Provost and Executive Dean
University of Alaska Southeast
907.796.6486
racaulfield@uas.alaska.edu

Jim Hemsath
Deputy Director
Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority
907.771.3040
jhemsath@aidea.org

Susan Henrichs
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.7096
smhenrichs@alaska.edu

Alex Hills
Distinguished Service Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
ahills@cmu.edu

Jim Johnsen
Senior Vice President
Alaska Communications
james.johnsen@acsalaska.com

Karl Kowalski
Chief Information Technology Officer
University of Alaska System
907.450.8383
karl.kowalski@alaska.edu

Mark Myers
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.6000
mdmyers@alaska.edu

Fred Rainey
Professor and Director
Biological Services
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.4987
farainey@uaa.alaska.edu

Bob Swenson
State Geologist and Director
Division of Geological & Geographical Surveys
State of Alaska
907.451.5001
bob.swenson@alaska.gov

Daniel White
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Director, Institute of Northern Engineering
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.6222
dmwhite@alaska.edu

Helena Wisniewski
Vice Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
Dean, Graduate School
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.1196
hswisniewski@uaa.alaska.edu

Fran Ulmer (ex officio)
Chair, US Arctic Research Commission
fran.ulmer@arctic.gov

Back to Top