Academic Affairs and Research

Statewide Committee for Research (SCoR)

SCoR Bylaws

The Alaska State Committee for Research (hereafter referred to as SCoR) is an advisory body created to function as the State Committee for Alaska EPSCoR (Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research). This responsibility includes;

  • Oversight and guidance for the EPSCoR program as competitively funded by the National Science Foundation and the related programs of other federal agencies;
  • Promoting research and development as an enterprise and as an engine for economic development in Alaska.

The committee offices will be located at the University of Alaska in Fairbanks.

continue...



Committee Members

Byron Mallott (co-chair)
Lt. Governor
State of Alaska
907.465.3520
byron.mallott@alaska.gov

Daniel White (co-chair)
Vice President
Academic Affairs & Research
University of Alaska System
907.450.8018
dmwhite@alaska.edu

Sarah Barton
President
ConsultNorth
907.223.1631
sarahbarton@consultnorth.net

Samuel Gingerich
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs
University of Alaska Anchorage
907.786.1921
sbgingerich@uaa.alaska.edu

Jim Hemsath
Director - Project Development & Asset Management
Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority
907.771.3040
jhemsath@aidea.org

Susan Henrichs
Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.7096
smhenrichs@alaska.edu

Alex Hills
Distinguished Service Professor
Carnegie Mellon University
ahills@cmu.edu

Larry Hinzman
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of Alaska Fairbanks
907.474.6000
ldhinzman@alaska.edu

Karl Kowalski
Chief Information Technology Officer
University of Alaska System
907.450.8383
karl.kowalski@alaska.edu

Mark Myers
Commissioner
Alaska Department of Natural Resources
907.269.8431
mark.myers@alaska.gov

Anupma Prakash
Principal Investigator
Alaska EPSCoR
907.474.1897
aprakash@alaska.edu

Karen Schmitt
Vice-Provost for Research and Sponsored Programs
University of Alaska Southeast
907.796.6518
karen.schmitt@uas.alaska.edu

Mead Treadwell 
mead@treadwellalaska.com

Fran Ulmer (ex officio)
Chair, US Arctic Research Commission
fran.ulmer@arctic.gov

Back to Top