Coalition of Student Leaders



Agenda

Saturday, October 11, 2014

3:00 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. UAF Campus – West Ridge Butrovich Building, Room 109 For more information:

www.alaska.edu/governance

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Former Chair of the Coalition, Shauna Thornton, will preside over the meeting until a new chair is elected.

Voting Members:

UAA student representatives:

Stacey Lucason, Union of Students of UAA-Anchorage Savley Kalugin, Kachemak Bay Branch Student Association-Homer Kandyce Hignite, Kenai River Campus Student Union-Kenai Everett Hamilton, Matanuska-Susitna Student Government Council-Palmer Junaid Kahn, Prince William Sound Community College Student Association-Valdez Vacant, Kodiak College Student Association-Kodiak

UAF student representatives:

Mathew Carrick, Associated Students of UAF-Fairbanks Steven Piazza for Kristina Ramirez, Bristol Bay Campus-Dillingham Bernard Mael, Kuskokwim Campus-Bethel Vacant, Chukchi Campus-Kotzebue Vacant, Northwest Campus-Nome

UAS student representatives:

Toby Wark, United Students of UAS-Sitka Victoria Daniels, United Students of UAS-Juneau Chris Terry, United Students of UAS-Ketchikan

Ex-Officio Members:

Courtney Enright, Student Regent, UA Board of Regents Pending, Student Commissioner, Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education

Staff:

LaNora Tolman, Executive Officer, System Governance Joseph Altman, Coordinator, System Governance Amber Averette, Advisor, Juneau Campus Shauna Thornton, Advisor, Kenai Campus

- 3. Approve Minutes from May 2, 2014
- 4. Guest Comments
- 5. Chair's Report Shauna Thornton
- 6. Campus Reports Process Explanation
- 7. Election of Chair and Vice Chair
- 8. Election of Officers: Secretary, Treasurer, and Historian
- 9. Internal Committees Choose committee representatives
 - 9.1. AAIP Scholarship
- 10. External Committees Choose Representatives
 - 10.1. System Governance Council (SGC) Chair plus on other rep needed
 - 10.2. Stay on Track One rep and one alternate
 - 10.3. Tuition Task Force One rep and one alternate
 - 10.4. Shaping Alaska's Future (SAF) Chair and Vice Chair
 - 10.5. Information and Technology Executive Council (ITEC) Meeting One rep and one alternate

11. New Business

- 11.1. No Winter Retreat due to travel cuts confirm dates to Juneau for the advocacy trip in February
- 11.2. Set dates for Coalition's monthly Google Hangout meetings
- 11.3. Other
- 12. Ongoing Business
 - 12.1. Charter Updates

Review updates and UA President's approval.

Note to confirm and add to minutes:

The following Coalition members voted in favor of for voting and approving the following wording through email in May 2014: Shauna Thornton, Ayla O'Scannell, Michael DiBattista, Jessica Dominy, Chris Terry, Emily Abel, and Jason Smith.

Added to the Charter, Article 5. Officers after the May 2, 2014 meeting:

"Each officer shall work together as a team with the chair and vice chair to update the Coalition's Facebook page, Twitter account, or any other electronic media used for university systemwide communication."

- 13. Comments and Special Orders
- 14. Adjourn